CHICAGO — Chicago health officials updated the city’s emergency travel order Tuesday and added Indiana, New Mexico, North Carolina and Rhode Island.

The full list now includes:

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Starting Friday, anyone arriving from the newly-added states will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days in Chicago, or they could face fines of $100-$500 per day, up to $7,000.

Over the weekend, Indiana saw its highest number of COVID-19 hospitalizations in nearly five months.

The addition of Indiana also comes after several businesses in Griffith, Ind. were closed for disinfecting following positive COVID-19 cases.

Indiana Gov. Eric Holcomb lifted restrictions on businesses and crowd sizes last month. He said he is still weighing whether to extend the state’s mask mandate, which expires Friday.

Those who travel regularly from Indiana for work and school are exempt.

More information on the city’s website.

Also Tuesday, Illinois marked a somber milestone as health officials said the state has surpassed 9,000 total deaths due to coronavirus.

Source Article