TRENTON, NJ — New Jersey’s self-quarantine travel advisory list has swelled to 38 states and territories — the highest total since the alert was established in June. Michigan made its debut to the listing, while Ohio and Virginia returned after being removed last month. 

As a result, individuals traveling to New Jersey are asked to get tested for the coronavirus and self-quarantine for 14 days if they traveled from these 36 states and two territories: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Please note: Arizona was removed September 29, California, Hawaii, and Maryland on September 15, Virgin Islands on September 8, Washington on August 11 and Washington, D.C., on August 4.

Sign Up for Belmar/Lake Como Newsletter

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

You have successfully signed up for the TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como Newsletter.

The advisory applies to anyone coming into the Garden State on train, bus, car, airplane or any other method of travel. Officials said areas considered “impacted states” for the virus have a positive COVID-19 test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or have a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

Individuals following voluntary self-quarantine should not leave their hotel or home unless they are attending to a medical matter, or need to acquire food or other essential items. 

According to Gov. Phil Murphy, the advisory does not apply to individuals:

  • Who passed through a designated state for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
  • Who are passing through New Jersey on a layover for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
  • Who are traveling to New Jersey for business matters that are exempted from the application of the travel advisory.
  • Who are traveling to New Jersey and work in critical infrastructure fields, such as health care and federal, state and local law enforcement. Residents should consult with their employer regarding whether there is industry-specific guidance.

Click here for more information. 

TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como is Belmar and Lake Como’s only free daily newspaper. Accredited by the New Jersey Press Association, it is the official electronic newspaper of both municipalities. As a locally owned news organization, TAPinto through its advertisers is able to publish online, objective news 24/7 at no charge. Sign up for its free daily e-News, and follow it on Facebook and Twitter.

Download the free TAPinto App! Click here for Android – Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening

Source Article